Pierce The Veil’s Song ” Stay Away From My Friends”

The Song ” Stay Away From My Friends” by one of my favorite bands Pierce The Veil, leaves a very strong message behind it’s lyrics. What I have determined from the meaning is that, It is about a struggle with depression and self harm. One of the key lines in this song is ” You don’t know what it’s like to wake up in the middle of the night scaring the thought of kissing razors this blood evacuation is telling me to cave in”. The other line is this “ Baby stay away from my friends cuz I need them to carry me when its over, and you can listen to glass hearts shattering”. In this song the singer is telling his baby to stay from his friends. His “baby” represents his blade. He is trying to recover from this nightmare he is living and even though he is depressed he wants his friends to think that he is completely normal. The story shows that he knows he is going to loose his battle with depression and he’s gonna need his friends to carry him to his grave basically is what the lyric means. He wakes up in the middle of the night wanting to hurt himself. This song hits home for me because I know friends who have gone through this same stage in their life some of them still stuck in it but keep going day by day. It also hits home for myself too because I have well been in that situation before. You just want everyone to think that you are ok and that everything is fine. I am now 3 months clean from my depression stage and from my self harm battle. This song came on today while I was on my way home from school and Im sitting there and wow the lyrics really hit me this time because I fully understand who his baby is and what is going to happen by the end of the song. I bet there a lot of people who have been in this same place and I hope that you continue to stay strong. If anyone has not heard of Pierce The Veil they are a really great band, and definitely one of my inspirations. Check out this song and listen to it and tell me what your response is to this song. how-to-draw-pierce-the-veil-logo_1_000000019653_5

Leave a comment